Genre: Animation, Fantasy, Drama

Director: Makoto Shinkai

Year: 2016

Rating: 8,7 IMDb

Never have I ever been so emotionally invested to a film until I’ve watched Your Name / Kimi No Na Wa. 

Holy hell! I’m tearing up just trying to write this blog.

A story about two strangers Taki Tachibana and Mitsuha Miyamizu who exprienced a bizzare phenomenon of switching bodies. As occurances keep on happening a bond is created between the two. (No spoilers) How will things work out between the two?

Source: https://wall.alphacoders.com/big.php?i=687987

Funny, sad, happy, overall moving. With great technique of story-telling Makoto Shinkai proved that he is just too underrated. Greatness, that’s this guy’s potential, having said that I doubt he can ever make a film that can top Your Name. 

The next Hayao Miyazaki? I’m not surprised if he’ll be called that someday.

Like I said in the beginning I have never been so moved by a movie. Though I wouldn’t say that I don’t easily get emotional, because I do… A lot, like with Interstellar or Toys Story 3; especially with Toys Story 3, damn, when Andy was giving Woody away to Bonnie… God… Anyway back to topic, though I may be easily moved, my tears have never been shed by a film; until I watch Your Name. 

Yup, I tear watching an animated film.  I just can’t help it the film is just too well-made, I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only one though.

While on it Makoto showed some humor which can turn tears to laughter just like that.

Source: https://wall.alphacoders.com/big.php?i=736462

Being a “Fantasy” film, it didn’t revolve in how or why the bizzare phenomenon happen. It flows so smoothly with the drama, that every question you might think while watching is answered without rush or force.

Animation-wise I really like the illustration. It’s that detailed “put in a lot of work” kind of animation but at the same time soft. The thing that I like the most are the night skies, just wow, so beautiful; it gave much more feeling into the film.

Source: https://wall.alphacoders.com/big.php?i=748543

Earlier I talked about how Makoto might be the next Miyazaki. Well a few days ago Your Name just became the highest grossing anime film; topping Miyazaki’s oh-so-lovable Spirited Away. 

The film may have minor plot holes (which in my opinion really minor),but well sometimes you just don’t give a f*ck.

So, for film enthusiasts, brokenhearted lovers, “mellow” ones, and especially anime lovers, this film can be counted as a must watch. 

