Genre: Animation, Adventure, Family

Director: Hayao Miyazaki

Year: 2008

Rating: 7,7 imdb

This guy just can never do no wrong. Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen’s The Little Mermaid, Miyazaki creates this wonderful film of pure innocence. Concerning the fact that people are hurting the ocean/sea, this film gave the massage with such happiness that made me feel high… Yeah, typical Miyazaki.

Captivating yet relaxing, the film shows how wonderous the ocean/sea can be with Miyazaki’s eye-watering fantasy. Like the spirit bathhouse of Spirited Away and two girls who met a bear-like lovable guardian of the forest in My Neighbor Totoro,  Ponyo delivered the same fantasy world we all loved (I hope I’m speaking for most).

https://wall.alphacoders.com/by_sub_category.php?id=174092&name=Ponyo+Wallpapers&page=2

A story about a fish who’s curious about the human world. Out there she met Sosuke a five year old boy who rescued her and have her a name; Ponyo.  Ponyo grew fond of Sosuke, which led her to going to the surface again even after her father Fujimoto take her back home by force (Sounds familiar? Yeah I know, but I can assure you that the execution’s way different and in my opinion better).

For those who have watched My Neighbor Totoro must know that feeling of love, innocence, happiness, and reality-in-fantasy. That innocent happiness we felt while watching Totoro is really something that sets you free from all your problems, and guess what?  I felt the same way watching Ponyo.

https://wall.alphacoders.com/by_sub_category.php?id=174092&name=Ponyo+Wallpapers&page=2

Ponyo successfully attracted big actors such as Liam Neeson and Matt Damon in voicing it’s english version, well that definitely speaks volume. Which unfortunately I haven’t watched since I have this policy that every “first watch” must be with it’s original language. But boy am I excited to watch the english version, I mean Liam Neeson as Fujimoto? I’d really love to see how it went. 

Trivia: Miyazaki made this film fully with traditional animating methods, so it’s basically fully hand-drawn. Just wow man, I’m really in love with that man.

Subtly bearded note: Please expect some more Studio Ghibli film blogs, for I am a Ghibli fan. Especially if it’s Miyazaki.

